No Flash Fic … Again

Unfortunately, I had to skip the flash fic again.  As eager as I was to write this particular prompt I am once again drowning in work.

Long working hours

I keep trying to remind myself that it’s all good stuff.  The Equals novella is at least half done, the spin-off novel is written and Allison did some preliminary beta work on it.  It’s in relatively good shape and just needs some tweaking.  The first draft of the 150k + novel I’ve been collaborating with another writer on is finished and will now be split into two books.  We’re painstakingly going through it chapter by chapter to get it ready.  And the novel I thought was a complete, utter mess is back from another beta and needs far less work than I expected.

But it’s no surprise I’m overwhelmed right now, huh?  I look at that list and think “holy shit, I did all that??”.  I’m trying to balance the overwhelming urge to either panic and/or take a nap, and the pressure to work myself into exhaustion to get it all done NOW.

Allison, darling friend and beta that she is, promised to keep me on track so I work on them in order without killing myself in the process.  (Seriously, this woman should be getting paid an assistant’s salary) And I emailed my boss this morning to see if I could take a few days off in the next couple of weeks.  Whether I get them or not remains to be seen.  The schedule is out and I have no idea if I’ll be able to find any coverage for my shifts.  But just sending the email makes me feel a bit more in control so that’s something positive.

So, cross your fingers for me, because I really want to finish these stories and get them out to you.  Preferably without losing my mind.

4 thoughts on “No Flash Fic … Again

  1. Don’t worry about it. We agreed from the start that nobody was under an obligation to write a flash every week, and that still holds true. Besides, I can’t be the only one not quite patiently waiting for the continuation of Equals. Do what works best for you and don’t worry about it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ditto that. I care way more about you than your words, so don’t kill yourself. Remember, people used to take years to get books out. I don’t understand the heated rush that’s on writers now. I try to ignore it. Obviously we don’t do it for the money and if it’s no longer fun, then…? And Allison definitely deserves all the sparkly, wonderful titles, awards and things. She’s amazing. As are you, so take care of yourself, eh?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I appreciate that, Jaycee!

      And to be perfectly frank, I AM in this for money. Not in the “make more money than I know what to do with” sense, but when I’m working my ass off to quit the day job and write full time, there’s a hell of a lot of pressure to get books out as quickly as I can. Granted, that doesn’t mean cutting corners on telling a good story and making sure it’s well edited, but it does mean that after the first month, month and a half after a release, my sales drop off drastically. To keep them up, I HAVE to release books on a regular basis in order to keep up that momentum.

      I want it to be fun, but I also want to make this my career so I can’t just put a book out whenever I feel like it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

